Reviews

Reviews

We have some very lovely feedback from our customers and we always try to provide the sort for service you would expect from a local seaside pub. We are not the IVY, but we pride ourselves on good food, great beer and a relaxing atmosphere.
(PS. when the sun is shining there is no better place to be!)

Most recent reviews from TripAdvisor

  •   lovely place, helpful, friendly staff, great menu, we said it be worth driving down from London especially for it!

    thumb elainekatheriner
    2/18/2018

      went with my family yesterday, and had fish and chips. Lovely, nice atmosphere and very good service, thanks, see you soon

    thumb owenwheeler7
    1/29/2018

      The Ocean Inn is about 5 miles from where live (Greatstone) but I am quite happy to pass half a dozen other restaurants to get to it as it has very friendly staff, an extensive menu of English food, especially fish, there is a blackboard...More

    thumb Roy M
    1/24/2018
  •   I go here every time I visit my father. He lives a fair way away, but we make the trip because they serve such delicious and varied food. I usually stick to the catch of the day, as it's local and so fresh, but they...More

    thumb Emma M
    1/24/2018

      The lady in the B&B recommended the food at the Ocean Inn and I was not disappointed. I had a pint of real ale before choosing the Lasagne Verdi with bread and salad. I had a bottle of Peroni with my meal which was on...More

    thumb graham260
    11/14/2017

      Ok ...Dymchurch is not a must see destination. And the Ocean Inn could easily be overlooked as a bog standard local pub. But ! The food is excellent- especially the very fresh fish, locally caught and cooked to perfection. We had delicious, fresh chunky haddock...More

    thumb janetclondon
    11/08/2017

Other Reviews

From Facebook

 

Lovely pub, recommend the Fishermans Basket. Food is served in good time and tastes great, staff are friendly.

Melisa Johnson – 23RD feb 2017

Not had a bad meal in here the food is lovely and only takes minutes to be served the staff are very friendly a lovely old fashioned pub that caters for all ages and to top it off the fish on the seafood stall is good.

Eve Bob Josh – 13th sept 2016

Loved it. Great food, great staff, lovely place, family friendly, overall perfect. Went twice the same day!

Simon Tolson – 30th Oct 2016

Been going to the ocean for a number of years took our kids now we take the grandkids food excellent lovely cosy friendly place.

Carla Savage – 10th Sept 2016


From Google

 

Good food friendly staff nice outdoor area with great children’s play area and dog friendly.
Food prices are reasonable and value for money with a wide choice of food if you like fish and would like something substantial without feeling too guilty I would recommend the fisherman’s basket.
Stephen Hawkins – (I wonder if it was the world renowed Genius?)

less than a month ago

Good service and we’ll priced bar food. Well needed after a long walk from Folkestone. – Mark Cadier

less than a month ago

A great place for a drink or lunch. Been going there for 30 years – Craig James Bauer

less than a month ago

Car park, nice outdoor seating and pool table didn’t eat but the beer was poor.- Daniel Sayer

less than a month ago

– Sorry about the beer Daniel, come in again and we will make sure its top quality and on the house. Still liked us enough to give us 3 stars 😉


From Beer in the Evening

 

Only used the pub itself ones and found it pretty good, customers seemed friendly and the Directors was good, there is a great seafood stall outside and I always get some fresh seafood when in Dymchurch

vinnnie

As per my review of The City of London Dymchurch, while visiting my “Dymchurch resident family, I take full advantage of the service given by The Ocean’s owners and staff. Love the ambience, like the beer (John Smiths wit a big head) and meeting again the many friends I have in the area. This is a “must pub” for any visitors. Looking forward to my next visit.

Merkin5

Fine seaside tavern and a welcome sight on a hot day. As the previous poster mentioned they serve a decent pint of Directors. The sea food stall out front is very nice too.r

NicktheFish

I like this pub, its old and its what you would expect from a seaside pub. In the summer its absolutely manic and it can be hard to get served but sitting in the beer garden with a cold beer is wonderful. The beer is decent, I am a real ale drinker and they had a very nice pint of Directors on hand pull and another special real ale which I can’t remember. They have the normal array of Stella, Becks, Fosters lagers. They have a pull table and dart board but I have been in there when they had a darts night and it can get pretty nosey but adds to the atmosphere. They show sports on TV so you can watch your football if you wish and a restaurant out the back. Food is good, portions are huge, a Sunday Roast and a Pint of beer and I was ready for bed. It’s nice to know that this is still a traditional British seaside pub and not another Harvester!

JamieGeorge