Reviews

Reviews

We have some very lovely feedback from our customers and we always try to provide the sort for service you would expect from a local seaside pub. We are not the IVY, but we pride ourselves on good food, great beer and a relaxing atmosphere.
(PS. when the sun is shining there is no better place to be!)

Most recent reviews from TripAdvisor

  •   Plenty of seating , restaurant in the back bar. The place is very popular with locals and tourists alike. There is a car park with shed selling seafood. Big venue, a choice of ales. The wave bus runs right past the door.

    thumb lobster64
    5/12/2018

      Food was excellent. The toilets were disgustingly dirty and not at all maintained. Bar staff not helpful or friendly

    thumb Jackie W
    5/08/2018

      It’s the summer season again and the ocean inn plays a big part on these weekends when we go down to the caravan as it’s very friendly and if you want food it’s not a bad place to have a meal. Staff are friendly and...More

    thumb jameselee2016
    5/06/2018
  •   We visited Dymchurch using the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway and found the Ocean Inn to be a most hospitable and welcoming experience. We had mainly seafood which was very fresh,well-cooked and full of flavour.

    thumb Peter R
    4/24/2018

      Nice outside seating, good drinks, spacious interior and the desserts look fantastic. Central location near amusements and beach,

    thumb Treats999
    4/21/2018

      Popped into the Ocean for a drink with visiting relatives, and had a really good pint of a guest ale by Timothy Taylor. The only trouble with the public bar area is its so noisy, and its not the customers but the TV’s showing endless...More

    thumb Andrew A
    4/04/2018

Other Reviews

From Facebook

 

Lovely pub, recommend the Fishermans Basket. Food is served in good time and tastes great, staff are friendly.

Melisa Johnson – 23RD feb 2017

Not had a bad meal in here the food is lovely and only takes minutes to be served the staff are very friendly a lovely old fashioned pub that caters for all ages and to top it off the fish on the seafood stall is good.

Eve Bob Josh – 13th sept 2016

Loved it. Great food, great staff, lovely place, family friendly, overall perfect. Went twice the same day!

Simon Tolson – 30th Oct 2016

Been going to the ocean for a number of years took our kids now we take the grandkids food excellent lovely cosy friendly place.

Carla Savage – 10th Sept 2016


From Google

 

Good food friendly staff nice outdoor area with great children’s play area and dog friendly.
Food prices are reasonable and value for money with a wide choice of food if you like fish and would like something substantial without feeling too guilty I would recommend the fisherman’s basket.
Stephen Hawkins – (I wonder if it was the world renowed Genius?)

less than a month ago

Good service and we’ll priced bar food. Well needed after a long walk from Folkestone. – Mark Cadier

less than a month ago

A great place for a drink or lunch. Been going there for 30 years – Craig James Bauer

less than a month ago

Car park, nice outdoor seating and pool table didn’t eat but the beer was poor.- Daniel Sayer

less than a month ago

– Sorry about the beer Daniel, come in again and we will make sure its top quality and on the house. Still liked us enough to give us 3 stars 😉


From Beer in the Evening

 

Only used the pub itself ones and found it pretty good, customers seemed friendly and the Directors was good, there is a great seafood stall outside and I always get some fresh seafood when in Dymchurch

vinnnie

As per my review of The City of London Dymchurch, while visiting my “Dymchurch resident family, I take full advantage of the service given by The Ocean’s owners and staff. Love the ambience, like the beer (John Smiths wit a big head) and meeting again the many friends I have in the area. This is a “must pub” for any visitors. Looking forward to my next visit.

Merkin5

Fine seaside tavern and a welcome sight on a hot day. As the previous poster mentioned they serve a decent pint of Directors. The sea food stall out front is very nice too.r

NicktheFish

I like this pub, its old and its what you would expect from a seaside pub. In the summer its absolutely manic and it can be hard to get served but sitting in the beer garden with a cold beer is wonderful. The beer is decent, I am a real ale drinker and they had a very nice pint of Directors on hand pull and another special real ale which I can’t remember. They have the normal array of Stella, Becks, Fosters lagers. They have a pull table and dart board but I have been in there when they had a darts night and it can get pretty nosey but adds to the atmosphere. They show sports on TV so you can watch your football if you wish and a restaurant out the back. Food is good, portions are huge, a Sunday Roast and a Pint of beer and I was ready for bed. It’s nice to know that this is still a traditional British seaside pub and not another Harvester!

JamieGeorge